Nut Balls

ballOne of the toughest things about being on this Anti Inflammatory Diet is the fact that I can’t eat sugar.  I love sugary treats.  I am finding that in order to not cheat every moment of the day I need a substitute and a really good one at that.

Enter these Nut Balls. I have adapted this recipe from Edible Perspective They contain no sugar, the sweetness comes from Medjool dates and they are very tasty. I made them three different ways, plain, rolled in coconut and with an almond in the center.  Next time I make them I will not put the almond in the center, it just threw off the whole truffle like quality of the ball with the crunch in the middle. The coconut ones were at least nice to look at, so I may go with that next time.

Nut Balls

Ingredients

1/2 cup walnuts
3/4 cup almonds
10 medjool dates pitted
2 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder organic
1 tablespoon coconut oil
2 tablespoon unsweetened shredded coconut
1 teaspoon vanilla
Directions
Place all ingredients in a Vitamix or food processor and mix until very well blended and the nuts are crumb like.
Roll into balls
Roll balls in shredded coconut, cocoa or finely chopped nuts (optional)
Refrigerate
Enjoy

 

Leave a Reply

