New Year

A new year begins with hope.  We ended 2012 and all of the trials that we went through with a fond goodbye. I am hopeful that 2013 will be healthier with the cancer behind me.  I have had so many book recommendations given to me over the holidays that it is going to take me the year just to get through them but I will give a quick review here whenever I finish one.

Just before Christmas I finished reading Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project and Happier at Home and have decided that I will do a year long Happiness Project myself.  Each month I have picked one area to work on. January will be to help with my sleep issues by finding ways to fall asleep quicker, stay asleep longer and not wake up so early and stare at the ceiling (there is never anything interesting on my ceiling, no matter how long and hard I look).
I am going to reprint here what Neil Gaiman’s Wish because it is exactly how I want this year to unfold

It’s a New Year and with it comes a fresh opportunity to shape our world. 
 
So this is my wish, a wish for me as much as it is a wish for you: in the world to come, let us be brave – let us walk into the dark without fear, and step into the unknown with smiles on our faces, even if we’re faking them. 
 
And whatever happens to us, whatever we make, whatever we learn, let us take joy in it. We can find joy in the world if it’s joy we’re looking for, we can take joy in the act of creation. 
 
So that is my wish for you, and for me. Bravery and joy.
I want everyone around me including myself to find bravery and joy. This is my hope for 2013.
Leave a Reply

